SDSN Greece, SDSN’s 22nd network, is another valuable national network in the Mediterranean region along SDSN Italy, Spain, and Turkey. The network convenes Greek stakeholders on the local priorities of this biodiversity hotspot, while focusing on topics like natural capital and climate change. SDSN Greece also explores the domain of sustainable development in times of crisis.

Location: Athens, Greece

Hosted by: ICRE8: International Center for Research on the Environment and the Economy and the Political Economy of Sustainable Development Lab


  • Andreas Papandreou

    Economics Department of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
  • Phoebe Koundouri

    Founder and Research Director ICRE8: International Center for Research on the Environment and the Economy

SDSN Greece’s three thematic priorities are 1. Natural Capital Valuation: Sustainable Investment Allocation 2. Climate Change: Mitigation and Adaptation Policies 3. Sustainable Development in Times of Crisis

SDSN Greece is set up to be an important contributor to the work of the SDSN Mediterranean. In this direction, the Greek hub aims to revive the Mediterranean Climate Change Initiative (MCCI). The MCCI initiative was envisaged as both an autonomous Mediterranean political initiative aiming at strengthening international and regional agreements through common policy positions and concrete actions, as well as a projects-based initiative to be eligible for the Union for the Mediterranean branding.

It was formally established in 2010 with a Joint Political Declaration signed by four Prime Ministers and 13 Ministers, with a goal to “strengthen collaboration on convergent challenges and opportunities across the Mediterranean and place a greater focus on the implementation of Union for the Mediterranean projects in the Mediterranean region”. The MCCI initiative was composed by eighteen Political Delegations, including eight EU Member States (Bulgaria, Cyprus, France, Greece , Italy, Malta, Romania, Slovenia) together with Albania, Croatia, Egypt, FYROM, Israel, Mauritania, Montenegro, Palestinian National Authority, Serbia and Turkey and was fully supported by the European Union.